How do I use Bridge without user emails?

Document created by Ike Bennion Administrator on Jun 9, 2016
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

 

Many clients are training contractors, hourly employees or others who do not have a work-assigned email address. This document proposes a couple ways that a client can configure Bridge and still allow for many of the fundamental processes of Bridge. (Click an image to enlarge screenshot)

 

 

Overview

 

There are a couple basic user functions that Bridge relies on email for. These include:

    • Creating a password for initial entry into Bridge.
    • Resetting passwords
    • Notification of enrollments in courses, ILTs and surveys
    • Reminder to take courses, ILTs and surveys
    • Delivery of any attachments on courses and ILTs
    • Any messages sent by admins or authors through the UI

 

Amongst these, creating and resetting passwords are, debatably, the most critical functions.

 

 

Potential Work Arounds

 

Work Around 1: Uploaded Passwords

Defining Password: For initial access into the system, an admin can upload a default password for the user. Through managers, training coordinators could communicate the login and default password to users. Instructions could also be provided to users on how to change the default password to a password the user selects.

 

Resetting Password: To reset a user password, an additional CSV upload to update the user's password is required.

 

Important things to keep in mind about this workaround:

    • If the user changes their password and forgets, admin intervention is necessary to reset the password for the user through CSV upload.
    • If a subsequent CSV upload was performed for the user with a password mapped, that will override an existing password, whether CSV or user defined.

 

Work Around 2: Password Reset Links

Defining Password: With notifications on for your account, click People in the left-hand navigation then Users and click the name of the user you would like to invite. Click email in the top right hand corner like below:

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 4.48.55 PM.png

Then select Invite to Bridge then either copy the URL and send to the user through another means or send directly through Bridge by clicking Send.

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 4.48.44 PM.png

 

Important things to keep in mind about this workaround:

    • If the user changes their password and forgets, admin intervention is necessary to reset the password for the user through CSV upload.
    • If a subsequent CSV upload was performed for the user with a password mapped, that will override an existing password, whether CSV or user defined.

 

 

 


Attachments

    Outcomes