How do I manage user permissions in my account?

Document created by Bridge Doc Team Employee on Oct 27, 2016Last modified by Bridge Doc Team Employee on Jul 21, 2017
Version 21Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Account admins have the ability to view and manage permissions for default and custom user roles in their account. Bridge has five default user roles: Learner, Author, Admin, IT Admin and Account Admin. In addition to the default user roles, a Bridge user can be assigned as a manager of a learner or group of learners. The manager role is optional and is automatically created through CSV import.

Account admins can create custom roles and assign and modify user roles to learners on the Users page.

Notes:

  • Permissions for managers are inherent and cannot be modified, however, they can also have an admin or account admin role that allows for additional permissions. Learn more about using Bridge as a manager.
  • This feature is not available in Bridge for Teams accounts.

Learn more about roles and permissions in Bridge.

Open Roles & Permissions

Open Roles & Permissions

In the Account Settings menu [1], click the Roles & Permissions link [2].

View Permissions

View Permissions

On the Permissions page, you can view the name of each category, group, and permission, and which user roles have a given permission.

Permissions are organized by category [1], group [2], and individual permissions [3]. Below each permission group, you can view a brief description of what the permission allows [4].

To view individual permissions within a group, click the expand/collapse arrow [5].

Manage Permissions

  Manage Permissions 

Default user roles for a permission represented by a gray box and lock icon [1] are locked by default and cannot be modified.

Custom roles are indicated by a pink box [2] and are displayed next to the permissions of the default role it was based on. Custom roles that are optionally added to a permission are indicated by a gray box with no lock icon [3]. To edit a permission group, locate the permission group [4] and click the Edit icon [5]. Changes will apply to all permissions within that group; however, you will still be able to edit individual permissions.

Learn more about editing user role permissions.

Custom Settings

Custom Settings

Custom settings for a permission group indicates that at least one permission within the group has been modified for a user role.

Filter Permissions

  Filter Permissions 

In the Search field [1], you can search all permissions.

In the Filter by menu [2], you can filter by role to view permissions for the selected role(s).

You are here
Table of Contents > Manage Account Settings > How do I manage user permissions in my account?

Attachments

    Outcomes