How do I edit a group?

Document created by Bridge Doc Team Employee on Jun 5, 2019Last modified by Bridge Doc Team Employee on Oct 11, 2019
Version 10Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

You can edit a group at any time to add users to or remove users from the group. You can edit both manually created groups and smart groups.

Note: Some features may be restricted based on permissions for your user role.

Open Admin Menu

  Open Admin Menu

In the Global Navigation menu, click the Application Switcher icon [1]. Then, click the Admin menu option [2].

Note: The Global Navigation menu may differ depending on what is enabled in your account.

Open Manage Groups

  Open Group Management

In the Users and Permissions menu [1], click the Manage Groups link [2].

Open Group

  Open Group

On the Groups page, click the name of the group. You can edit both manually created groups [1] and smart groups [2].

Note: The All Learners smart group cannot be edited.

Edit Manually Created Group

  Edit Manually Created Group

Edit the manually created group as necessary. To edit the group name, click the name of the group [1]. You can also find users to add to your group [2] and remove users from your group [3].

Changes to manually created groups are saved automatically.

View Relevant Content

  View Relevant Content

To view content that has been assigned to a group, click the Relevant Content tab [1].  Content items such as courses, programs, live trainings, and categories will display in this tab. To remove a content item, click the Remove icon [2]. To add a content item, click the Add Content button [3].

Add Group Content

  Add content

To search for content, type a search term in the Content Title search field [1]. Click the content title in the search results [2].

In the Set Relevance drop-down menu, set the relevance for the group [3]. The relevance setting defines the learning content's visibility for the group users. Relevance can be set as one of the following options:

  • Required [4]: the group users are enrolled in the course and the course is marked as required in their Learning page.
  • Recommended [5]: the group users can view the course in the Recommended by [Your Organization] section of their Learning page.
  • Available in Library [6]: the course displays in the Learning Library for all members of the group.

To save your content selection and relevance, click the Save button [7].

Add Category to Group

  Image of Add Group Content tool, with a category highlighted in the search results

To search for a category, type the category name in the Content Title search field [1]. Categories are represented in the search results by the stacked squares icon [2]. Click the category name in the search results [3].

In the Set Relevance drop-down menu, set the relevance for the group to Available in Library [4]. The only available relevance setting displayed for categories is Available in Library. To save your category selection, click the Save button [5]. Once a category is assigned to a group, all the category's learning content will display in group members' Learning Library within the category row.

Edit Smart Group

  Edit Smart Group

Edit the smart group as necessary. To edit the group name, click the name of the group [1]. You can also edit or delete existing rules [2]. To add a new rule, click the Add Another Field link [3].

To add or remove a user, you must edit the rule(s) of the smart group. Users need to meet any or all of the rule attributes in order to be added to the smart group.

Save Changes

  Save Changes

Once you have made changes, click the Update Group button.

You are here
Table of Contents > Groups > How do I edit a group?

Attachments

    Outcomes