Moderator Note: If a single notification setting is disabled as outlined in The specified item was not found., those notifications are still listed in the user interface and listed in the user's notifications area. This idea seeks to remove those notification listings from the user's notifications area.
I want to avoid that newly enrolled learners get too many notifications. So, I unchecked the box for notifications for user creation – before I created a user.
Still, "David", being enrolled as a new user, got a welcoming notification – on his user page! And, pressing the eye icon, this notification seems as though it has been sent in an email. It wasn't, no mail was received.
This is a misrepresentation – and for me, trying to keep the notifications for already information-burdened users to a low, spikes my pulse.
What need is there to have a "notification" on something not sent?